Luoping Zhang Appointed to the Carcinogen Identification Committee

Photo: Luoping ZhangLuoping Zhang

Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. appointed Luoping Zhang to the Science Advisory Board Carcinogen Identification Committee in November 2012. Zhang is an associate adjunct professor of Environmental Health Sciences in the School of Public Health at UC Berkeley.

“Professor Zhang is an excellent choice to serve on the state’s Carcinogen Identification Committee,” said COEH faculty Martyn T. Smith, a professor of Toxicology in the School of Public Health and principal investigator of the UC Berkeley Superfund program. “She has recently served on a number of committees of the National Academies and has made important contributions to our understanding of the carcinogenicity of benzene, formaldehyde, and other chemical agents.”

Zhang is a member of the Society of Toxicology, the Environmental Mutagen Society, the American Association for Cancer Research, and the Genetic and Environmental Toxicology Association. Her research explores the molecular mechanisms of bone marrow toxicity caused by exposures to toxic chemicals such as, benzene, formaldehyde, and trichloroethylene that are carcinogenic to humans.

Most recently, Zhang’s group has investigated the biological consequences of these chemical exposures in her current population studies by applying a novel System Biology approach employed with high-throughput array-based omic technologies.

Zhang earned a master’s degree in Biochemistry from the Huazhong University of Science and Technology in Wuhan, China, and a doctorate degree in Biochemical Toxicology from Simon Fraser University in British Columbia, Canada.

School of Public Health alumnus David Eastmond, PhD ’87, has also been appointed to the Carcinogen Identification Committee and alumna Tracey Woodruff, PhD ’91, has been appointed to the Developmental and Reproductive Toxicant Identification Committee.

“Governor Brown Announces Appointments.” Press release. Press office of the Governor of California. November 20, 2012.

back to top